July Book Club Wrap Up & August Kick off!

Since I was out of commission for a couple weeks, I completely missed the end of July and our book club wrap up. So…a few days late…here is the wrap up of Dan Brown’s Inferno.

This is the second book by Dan Brown that I have read, the first being The DaVinci Code. Much like The DaVinci Code, Inferno was a very quick read, and kept me engaged from beginning to end. I think it only took me about a week to read it cover to cover.

Inferno followed Robert Langdon on an adventure that intertwined historical Italian landmarks, memory loss, famous dead poets, love and betrayal, and a plague (oh my!).

Here are some book club questions and my take on the story:

  • Do the characters seem real and believable?

The main characters in this book, Robert, Sienna, Bertrand and Elizabeth aren’t necessarily believable – definite suspension of disbelief at play here. Not sure how much I can write without spoiling some plot points.

  • Did the book increase your interest in the subject matter?

Since this was a fictional book that revolved around some very real places and points in history, it would have really helped my understanding and enjoyment if I knew some more about Italian history and landmarks. If I was going to read it again, I’d have info about Florence handy so I could refer easily.

  • Did the book fulfill your expectations?

Honestly – It had been over a year since I read a book for pleasure (not school), so my only desire/expectation for this book was that it should be entertaining. AND IT WAS! It was such and engaging read that I was connected and attentive the entire time.

  • Did the book end the way you expected?

It did not! There was a twist at the end, not only with the main plot point, but with how the central characters reacted and progressed to the twist!

  • Would you recommend this book?

Yes! It was a light, non-serious read and was perfect for my first book in ages! And – even though it revolved around a character from Brown’s earlier works, you don’t have to be up to speed on the whole series to enjoy Inferno.

August Book!!

Now that we are a handful of days into August, it’s probably about time to unveil this month’s book. I will be reading Lean In, by Sheryl Sandberg.

Lean In comes recommended from a few friends and mentors. I really don’t know that much about it, other than what is printed on the cover of the book. I’m looking forward to getting started learning from a very successful leader!

Leave a Reply

